Goodbye Hashnode - Hello Quarto

Goodbye Hashnode - Hello Quarto

TL;DR: This blog is no longer maintained.

The maintained version is at https://geospatial.netlify.app/.

Why not hashnode

After a few weeks spend over the Hashnode and plenty of enthusiasm over the improvements in respect to the previous experience with Medium, I gave a try to quarto + netlify.

The problems I had with hasnode are documented in this post, and even if the hashnode support had acknowledge the issues in LaTeX formatting, these have not been solved.

As LaTeX formulae are indispensable in almost every post I wrote, and for all the drafts I have in the drawer. Leaving the reader to interpret things like $\cos(\text{lat1}) \sin(\text{lat2}) - \sin(\text{lat1}) \cos(\text{lat2}) \cos\left( \Delta \text{lon} \right)$ instead of rendering them as formula would make the reader experience (who is mostly me at the moment, and I am the most critical reader of my own blog) very poor.

Quarto allows the user to set up its own website with some learning curve, but not too much if there is already some familiarity with markdown, git and github.

Hashnode remains a valuable tool for quickly posting articles that are not too technical, and a great source of information and hints from the many developers participating to it.

Goodbye Hashnode, and thank you for the support!